NIHR Senior Investigator awards for Imperial


NIHR Senior Investigator award is given to some of the country’s foremost researchers, who make significant contributions to clinical and applied health and social care research. In February 2020, the NIHR announced the appointment of 45 NIHR Senior Investigators in the 13th round of awards: 28 new appointments, 17 reappointments; and 16 new Emeritus Senior Investigators.

We would like to congratulate the following Imperial Investigators on this prestigious recognition of their outstanding achievements:


Professor Alun Davies Vascular Surgery
Professor Jane Davies Respiratory Diseases


Newly Appointed:

Professor Peter Openshaw Respiratory Diseases
Professor Maria Zambon Infectious Diseases


New Emeritus Senior Investigators:

Professor Kian Fan Chung Respiratory Diseases

Emeritus status is given to award holders having succeeded twice in open competition, completing two terms as a Senior Investigator.

NIHR Senior Investigators provide visible leadership within the NIHR. Together, members constitute the College of Senior Investigators and act as a key source of advice to the Department of Health and Social Care’s Chief Scientific Adviser. To find out more about this award and to see the full list of the 2020 annual competition, go to the NIHR website.