Immunology Theme studies chronic immune disorders with a significant health and economic burden due to the potential to cause organ failure, if not recognised early, and the requirement for complex immunosuppression protocols. The focuses here are on diseases relevant to the local population grouped into (i) antibody-mediated disorders; (ii) thrombo-inflammation; (iii) glomerulonephritis and (iv) renal transplantation. This theme combines the world-leading immunology and inflammation expertise within the academic Centres for Inflammatory Disease and Haematology with the translational expertise of multidisciplinary Clinical Centres. This supports three aims: to ensure timely and accurate diagnosis, to fully optimise immunosuppression treatment and to explore novel therapeutics.

Key Individuals
  • Dr Nichola Cooper
    Dr Nichola Cooper
    Theme Lead, Immunology
  • Professor Matthew Pickering
    Professor Matthew Pickering
    Theme Lead, Immunology
  • Dr Adam McLean
    Dr Adam McLean
    Consultant nephrologist
  • Dr Amna Malik
    Dr Amna Malik
    Research Associate - Theme Committee Member
  • Dr Andrew Frankel
    Dr Andrew Frankel
    Consultant renal physician
  • Dr Benjamin Mullish
    Dr Benjamin Mullish
    Clinical Lecturer
  • Dr Candice Roufosse
    Dr Candice Roufosse
    Clinical Reader in Renal Pathology - Theme Committee Member
  • Dr Damien Ashby
    Dr Damien Ashby
    Clinical Lecturer in Renal Medicine
  • Dr Dawn Goodall
    Dr Dawn Goodall
    Renal Pharmacist
  • Dr Deepa Jayakody Arachchillage
    Dr Deepa Jayakody Arachchillage
    Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer - Theme Committee Member
  • Dr Horace Williams
    Dr Horace Williams
    Clinical Senior Lecturer
  • Dr James Tomlinson
    Dr James Tomlinson
    Chain-Florey Clinical Lecturer
  • Dr Jia Li
    Dr Jia Li
    Reader in Biological Chemistry
  • Dr Jonathan Hoare
    Dr Jonathan Hoare
    Consultant Gastroenterologist
  • Dr Kevin Woollard
    Dr Kevin Woollard
    Senior Research Fellow
  • Dr Maria Prendecki
    Dr Maria Prendecki
    Clinical Lecturer - Theme Committee Member
  • Dr Megan Griffith
    Dr Megan Griffith
    Consultant Nephrologist
  • Dr Michelle Willicombe
    Dr Michelle Willicombe
    Clinical Reader in Renal Pathology - Theme Committee Member
  • Dr Neill Duncan
    Dr Neill Duncan
    Renal Consultant
  • Dr Nicholas Medjeral-Thomas
    Dr Nicholas Medjeral-Thomas
    Honorary Clinical Research Fellow - Theme Committee Member
  • Dr Nikihl Vergis
    Dr Nikihl Vergis
    Clinical Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Paul Brookes
    Dr Paul Brookes
    Director, Histocompatibility & Immunogenetics Laboratory
  • Dr Pinelopi Manousou
    Dr Pinelopi Manousou
    Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Stephen McAdoo
    Dr Stephen McAdoo
    NIHR Clinical Lecturer
  • Dr Terence Cook
    Dr Terence Cook
    Professor of Renal Pathology
  • Dr Tom Cairns
    Dr Tom Cairns
    Clinical Director and Chief of Service, Renal Medicine
  • Professor Ailsa Hart
    Professor Ailsa Hart
    Professor of Practice
  • Professor Charles Pusey
    Professor Charles Pusey
    Professor of Medicine
  • Professor Danny Altmann
    Professor of Immunology
  • Professor Edwina Brown
    Professor Edwina Brown
    Consultant Nephrologist
  • Professor Frederick Tam
    Professor Frederick Tam
    Ken and Mary Minton Chair of Renal Medicine / Consultant Nephrologist
  • Professor Liz Lightstone
    Professor Liz Lightstone
    Professor of Renal Medicine
  • Professor Marina Botto
    Professor Marina Botto
    Professor of Rheumatology
  • Professor Rosemary Boyton
    Professor of Immunology and Respiratory Medicine
  • Professor Simon Taylor
    Professor Simon Taylor
    Honorary Senior Research Fellow/Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Professor Timothy Orchard
    Professor Timothy Orchard
    Professor of Gastroenterology
  • Professor Vassilios Papalois
    Professor Vassilios Papalois
    Consultant Transplant Surgeon
Read more + Read less -