Infection & Antimicrobial Resistance

West London has substantial social inequality and an ethnically diverse population. The area has long been associated with a high burden of infectious diseases, but this has been brought into sharp focus by the high mortality from COVID-19. Engagement with the local community and patient groups prior to COVID-19 identified antimicrobial resistance (AMR), HIV and pandemic preparedness as priorities for infection research. These remain strategic priorities for the Theme which brings together 35 PIs who between 2017-20 raised over £102M in external funding and contributed 496 theme publications. It will leverage recent NIHR infrastructure investments in the Colebrook laboratory and Centre for Antimicrobial Optimisation alongside a new Centre for Human Challenge to deliver novel strategies for the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases. The newly established Institute for Infection (Director, Bangham) will promote and drive interdisciplinary work across the Trust and university.

Building on lessons from the successful response of the theme to COVID-19, all of the Theme infrastructure will develop predefined roles as part of pandemic preparedness, poised to pivot rapidly when a novel pathogen emerges.

Key Individuals
  • Professor Graham Cooke
    Professor Graham Cooke
    Professor of Infectious Diseases
  • Professor Wendy Barclay
    Professor Wendy Barclay
    Theme Lead & Chair in Influenza Virology
  • Dr Anika Singanayagam
    Dr Anika Singanayagam
    Clinical Lecturer
  • Dr Aubrey Cunnington
    Dr Aubrey Cunnington
    Professor of Paediatric Infectious Disease
  • Professor Anthony Gordon
    Professor Anthony Gordon
    Chair in Anaesthesia and Critical Care
  • Professor Faith Osier
    Professor Faith Osier
    Co-Director, IoI, Chair, Immunology & Vaccinology
  • Professor Robin Shattock
    Professor Robin Shattock
    Chair in Mucosal Infection and Immunity
  • Professor Sarah Fidler
    Professor Sarah Fidler
    Professor of HIV medicine
Read more + Read less -