The NIHR Imperial BRC has established a new ‘virtual’ Theme, acting as a focal and coordinating point for all active and proposed research initiatives currently being directed towards the diagnosis and treatment of COVID-19 infection, across Imperial College London and Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust.

We are aiming for every patient with COVID-19 disease who is admitted to our hospitals to be given the opportunity to be part of one of the research trials or studies that we are running at Imperial (subject to eligibility and consent). You can find out more about ongoing clinical research projects here.

In addition to coordinating and prioritizing research studies, the NIHR Imperial BRC is providing additional infrastructure and funding where required to support the delivery of these activities, including research nurses, clinical research fellows, and access to tissue samples, clinical data, and other platforms.

The NIHR Health Informatics Collaborative (HIC) is actively engaged and the ICHT Research Informatics team are collating data and reports on suspected and actual COVID-19 patients, prototyping a real-time tool to support clinicians on the front-line and to support recruitment into studies.

The Colebrook Laboratory, funded by an NIHR capital award, is one of the focal points at Imperial for the collection and analysis of samples from patients with COVID-19.

Relevant Links:

Ongoing clinical studies
Accessing data for COVID-19 research
London IVD Diagnostics Pathway
Key Individuals
  • Professor Graham Cooke
    Professor Graham Cooke
    Theme lead and Professor of Infectious Diseases
  • Professor Wendy Barclay
    Professor Wendy Barclay
    Theme Lead & Chair in Influenza Virology
  • Dr Andrew Edwards
    Dr Andrew Edwards
    Non-Clinical Lecturer in Molecular Microbiology
  • Dr Anika Singanayagam
    Dr Anika Singanayagam
    Clinical Lecturer
  • Dr Aubrey Cunnington
    Dr Aubrey Cunnington
    Professor of Paediatric Infectious Disease
  • Dr Christopher Chiu
    Dr Christopher Chiu
    Senior Clinical Research Fellow
  • Dr Frances Davies
    Dr Frances Davies
    Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Luke Moore
    Dr Luke Moore
    Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Malick Gibani
    Dr Malick Gibani
    Clinical Lecturer
  • Dr Paul Randell
    Dr Paul Randell
    Infectious Diseases Consultant
  • Professor Alison Holmes
    Professor Alison Holmes
    Professor of Infectious Diseases
  • Professor Anthony Gordon
    Professor Anthony Gordon
    Chair in Anaesthesia and Critical Care
  • Professor Charles Bangham
    Professor Charles Bangham
    Chair of Immunology
  • Professor Darius Armstrong-James
    Professor Darius Armstrong-James
    Professor of Infectious Diseases and Medical Mycology
  • Professor Faith Osier
    Professor Faith Osier
    Co-Director, IoI, Chair, Immunology & Vaccinology
  • Professor Gad Frankel
    Professor Gad Frankel
    Professor of Molecular Pathogenesis
  • Professor Georgios Kassiotis
    Professor Georgios Kassiotis
    Professor of Retrovirology
  • Professor Graham Taylor
    Professor Graham Taylor
    Professor of Human Retrovirology
  • Professor José R Penadés
    Professor José R Penadés
    Director MRC Centre for Molecular Bacteriology & Infection
  • Professor Marta Boffito
    Professor Marta Boffito
    Professor of Practice
  • Professor Neil Ferguson
    Professor Neil Ferguson
    Professor of Mathematical Biology
  • Professor Paul Freemont
    Professor Paul Freemont
    Chair in Protein Crystallography
  • Professor Paul Kellam
    Professor Paul Kellam
    Professor of Virus Genomics
  • Professor Robin Shattock
    Professor Robin Shattock
    Chair in Mucosal Infection and Immunity
  • Professor Rosemary Boyton
    Professor Rosemary Boyton
    Professor of Immunology and Respiratory Medicine
  • Professor Sarah Fidler
    Professor Sarah Fidler
    Professor of HIV medicine
  • Professor Shiranee Sriskandan
    Professor Shiranee Sriskandan
    Professor of Infectious Diseases
  • Professor Sivaramesh Wigneshweraraj
    Professor Sivaramesh Wigneshweraraj
    Professor of Molecular Microbiology
Read more + Read less -